14th International Workshop on Finite Elements for Microwave Engineering

September 10-14, 2018 Cartagena De Indias, Colombia
Jointly held with 20th ICEAA

The lnternational Workshop on Finite Elements for Microwave Engineering is a highly-focused biannual event. It provides an ideal meeting place for researchers and practitioners active in the theory and application of the Finite-Element Method in RF and microwave engineering.

Jointly organized bythe  Colorado State University and the University of Florence.


Topics will include, but are not limited to:

  • Advanced FEM Techniques
  • Optimization Techniques, Model Order Reduction
  • Multigrid and Domain Decomposition Methods
  • Discontinuous Galerkin Methods
  • FEM for Multiphysics Problems
  • FEM for Metamaterials and Nanophotonics
  • Time Domain FEM
  • Adaptive methods
  • Hybrid Methods
  • FEM Modeling and Applications
  • CAD / Meshing Advances and Tools
  • Parallel Computation on Multi- and Many-Core Computers
  • Adaptive methods
  • Integral Equation Methods
  • Hybrid Methods.


Workshop abstracts will appear on IEEE Xplore. Selected workshop contributions will be published in a Special Issue of journal Electromagnetics.

General Chairs

Branislav Notaros, Colorado State University (USA)

Stefano Selleri, University of Florence (IT)

Scientific Committee


A. Boag, Tel Aviv University, (IL); A. C. Cangellaris, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (USA); • D. B. Davidson, University of Stellenbosch, (ZA); • R. Dyczij-Edlinger, Universität des Saarlandes (DE); • T. Eibert, Technische Universität München (DE); • G. Ghione, Politecnico di Torino, (IT); • R. D. Graglia, Politecnico di Torino, (IT); • J. Jin, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA); • L. Kempel, Michigan State University (USA); • J.-F. Lee, Ohio State University (USA); • R. Lee, Ohio State University (USA); • Z. Nie, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (CN); • B. M. Notaros, Colorado State University (USA); • G. Pelosi, University of Florence (IT); • A. F. Peterson, Georgia Institute of Technology (USA); • M. Salazar-Palma, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (ES); • C.J. Reddy, EMSS (USA); • S. Selleri, University of Florence (IT); • B. Shanker, Michigan State University (USA) • A. Toscano, University of Roma Tre (IT); • J. L. Volakis, Ohio State University (USA); • M. N. Vouvakis, University of Massachusetts (USA); • J. P. Webb, McGill University (CA); • A. Yilmaz, University of Texas at Austin (USA); • J. Zapata, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (ES).

Young Researcher Award

Starting with 14th edition a solid gold “Fiorino” coin will be awarded by the Department of Information Engineering of the University of Florence to the Best Paper by a Young Researcher.

Web site: http://www.FEM2018.unifi.it

More info: Brochure